School Board

School Board Members

The membership of the Board of Education of the Aberdeen Catholic School System shall consist of six members, the Pastors of St. Mary’s Parish and Sacred Heart Parish, the Bishop of Sioux Falls and the President as a non-voting member. Three of the members shall be selected from Sacred Heart Parish; the other three shall be selected from St. Mary’s Parish. The respective Parishes will conduct all selections. The term of office of a member shall be three (3) years.  

The current ACSS School Board members are:

  • Chad Bent
  • Tom Cogley
  • Catherine Knapp, Vice President
  • Steve Lewno
  • Kristie Martin, President
  • Joe Mehlhaff
  • Matt Althoff, Liason for Catholic Schools, Diocese of Sioux Falls
  • Rev. Andrew Dickinson, Pastor, Sacred Heart & St. Mary's Churches

The annual meeting of the School Board shall be on the second Wednesday of July.

Regular meetings shall be on the second Wednesday of each month at 3:30 PM in the conference room at Roncalli Junior/Senior High School.

The President shall prepare a preliminary agenda three days in advance of the meeting. Board members, through the President, may place any item of business on the agenda. In order for a person to speak at a Board meeting, she/he must contact the President five days before a meeting and state their topic. It will be placed on the agenda at the discretion of the School Board President as well as the President with an allotted time to be given that person.

All regular and special meetings are open to the public.